Skip to content

Assisting collaboration in forest and grassland restoration, conservation and resource utilization—for the benefit of all.

MFCN Advisory Council

The MFCN’S Advisory Council steers its day-to-day operational and executive functions, as well as strategic planning, fundraising and outreach.  The duties of the Advisory Council are to:

  • Set the agenda for MFCN meetings
  • Guide the development of new committees
  • Ensure the work of the MFCN and committees is being conducted within the spirit and intent of the Principles
  • Propose an annual budget to the MFCN
  • Authorize the expenditure of funds based on approved budget
  • Selects and approves staff, contractors and facilitators
  • Recruit membership for the Montana Forest Collaboration Network (MFCN)
  • Ensure a balance of interests is maintained on the Advisory Council
  • Pursue funding sources to accomplish budget requirements

Advisory Council Notes

Advisory Council Members

Gordy Sanders (Chair), Pyramid Mountain Lumber
Tim Love,
MFCN CoordinatorDebra Parker Foley, Administrator
Julia Altemus, Montana Wood Products Association

Earl Atwood, Custer-Gallatin Working Group
Scott Brennan, The Wilderness Society
David Brooks, Montana Trout Unlimited
Jim Burchfield, S.W. Crown Collaborative
Gary Burnett, Heart of the Rockies Initiative
Erin Carey, U.S. Bureau of Land Management
Erin Clark, Wild Montana

Joe Cohenour, Ten Mile/South Helena Collaborative Committee
Tony Colter, Beaverhead-Deerlodge Working Group
Marnie Criley, Watershed Consulting
Christine Dawe, U.S. Forest Service
Russ Ehnes, National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council

Emily Harkness, Heart of the Rockies Initiative
Steve Hedstrom, Montana Association of Conservation Districts
Blake Henning, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation
Ben Irey, National Forest Foundation

Stephen Kimball, Montana DNRC
Robyn King, Yaak Valley Forest Council

Ethan Kunard, Montana Watershed Coordination Council
Scott Laird, Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership
Keith Lannom, U.S. Forest Service
Roger Marshall, Retired Forester
Pat McKelvey, FireSafe Montana
Meghan Oswalt, U.S. Forest Service
Mark Peck, Lincoln County/Montana Coalition of Forest Counties
Willy Peck, Idaho Forest Group/Mineral County/Sanders County
John Prinkki, Custer-Gallatin Working Group
Kyle Tackett, Natural Resources Conservation District