Skip to content

Assisting collaboration in forest and grassland restoration, conservation and resource utilization—for the benefit of all.

Big Elk Divide Restoration Committee

The Big Elk Divide Restoration Committee began in February 2011. The Committee focuses on the Elkhorn Mountain wildlife management area in the Helena and Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forests and has its own Charter.

The Big Elk Divide Restoration Committee meets the 2nd Tues. of the month at 1 p.m. at the Helena Forest Supervisor’s Office. The public is welcome to attend.

Big Elk Divide Restoration Members

Al Christophersen, Citizen-at-Large, Co-Chair
Doug Abelin, Trail Vehicle Users, Agency Advisors
Anne Carlson, The Wilderness Society
Brian Kimpton, Rancher
Steve Marks, Lumber/Biofuels
Pat McKelvey, Tri-County Fire Safe
Dennis Milburn, Backcountry Horsemen
Lois Olsen, Citizen-at-Large
Franklin Slifka, Broad water County Commissioner
Mike Vashro, Helena Hunters & Anglers
Howard Burt, MT Fish, Wildlife & Parks
Andy Burgoyne, DNRC-Central Land Office
Heather DeGeest, USFS, Helena, District Ranger
Scott Franklin, Bureau of Land Management
Justin Meissner, USDA NRCS
David Nunn, USFS Fire Mgmt Officer-Townsend/Helena RD
Denise Pengeroth, USFS Wildlife Biologist & Elkhorn Coordinator
Charles Tuss, Bureau of Land Management, Fire Management
Eric Broder, BLM Assit. Acting Field Manager
Cindy Christopherson, Volunteer Note taker
Brian Khan, Facilitator
Adam Grove, FWP Wildlife Biologist
Corey Lewellen,USFS Townsend RD,. District Ranger.